Bank Holidays in July 2020: Full List of Days When Branches will Remain Closed


The bank services in India will remain largely unaffected in July, with no major festival falling in the month. Banks in most cities across the country will be functioning all days of the month except for 2nd, 4th Saturday and all Sundays. However, there are some bank holidays that are state-specific during which the banks will remain shut in a particular area.

According to the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) website —– banks in some cities will remain closed this month to observe some regional holidays like Beh Dienkhlam, Bhanu Jayanti, Ker Puja, U Tirot Sing Day, Drukpa Tshechi and Bakrid. Banks in Agartala will remain closed on 14th July, Gangtok on 13th July and 24th July, Jammu on 31st July, Kochi on 31st July, Shillong on 8th and 14th July, Srinagar on 31st July and Thiruvananthapuram on 31st July. All these will fall under ‘Holiday under Negotiable Instruments Act’.

Even as the bank branches will remain closed, customers can still complete transactions through online modes. Both mobile and internet banking will remain functional as usual. However, some ATMs might not disburse cash. So, if you want to make a major cash payment on the mentioned dates, please withdraw money in advance.

During the region-specific holidays, banks of that particular region will remain closed while banks on other regions will remain operational. Aside from these 10 holidays, there will be four Sundays in July, which will be regular weekly offs for banking staff.

As per the RBI guidelines, banks in India are usually shut on public holidays.

All-India holidays include Republic Day (January 26), Independence Day (August 15), and Gandhi Jayanti (October 2). Festivals like Diwali, Christmas, Eid, Guru Nanak Jayanthi, Good Friday, and so on are also bank holidays. Further, both private and public sector banks remain closed on the second, fourth Saturday and all Sundays of each month.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *